Letting It All Hang Out

1 01 2015

I hate New Year’s resolutions and I never make any.  No, wait…I was wrong.  I made a resolution a few years ago that I won’t make anymore resolutions.  Well, I’m about to break that resolution.  Unless, I call it something else.  Hmmm.

My resolution plan for this blog in 2015 – to let it all hang out.

What does that mean?  I had some definition in mind, but wanted to confirm it before I made it the title of this blog in case it meant something, um, indecent.  But, this fits perfectly: “Be totally candid in expressing feelings and opinions; hold nothing back. To do something enthusiastically and without fear of the results.”

I realize I only wrote one blog post last year.  That’s pretty pathetic, I know.  There were several factors in that weak attempt at being a blogger.  I did work a lot this past year which limited my time tremendously.  I was also mainly limited to a desktop computer which also requires a substantial amount of time on my part because I’m, at least to me, a horribly slow thinker and need a bit of time to think about what I want to say.  I have recently acquired a decent tablet with a Bluetooth keyboard to hopefully make my blogging more portable and easier to type so that I can do it more efficiently, instead of try to set aside a big chunk of time to write a post.

What could’ve been the main reason, I’m afraid and hate to say it, is fear.  I’m not even sure if that is the right word or not.  It seems too strong of a word, but I can’t think of any others to use.

These past few years have really been life-changing for my faith.  You can read about it in some of my previous posts.  Between life events, church, the actions of fellow believers, other blogs I’ve read, culture, and, hopefully, a better understanding of the Bible, my faith has changed dramatically.  Thus, I started this blog a couple of years ago to write down my thoughts and understanding on certain subjects.  I was surprised to find that an ex-pastor, now atheist, had better biblical theology and understanding than many Christians.  I wrote a few times about the obsessions Christian have with singling out homosexuality.  I wrote about how, even though many Christians want to constantly rip on President Obama, if the Bible is true, God put him there.  There are many other things I posted about.  The point of the posts were to try and encourage others to live out the faith they claim to have.  But, when looking back, I only scratched the surface.  I was being too “safe”.

I found myself, especially this past year, thinking of things to write about.  I would think about what I wanted to write at times, but then thinking about who would read it, dealing with reactions to what I wrote, along with the lack of time because of working a lot, pushed those things out of my head.  But, even while I hardly wrote anything this past year, I still learned quite a bit.  That’s why, hopefully, I am coming back to blog this year with a new drive…a drive to challenge Christians to understand and live out their faith.

There was a phrase that I wrote down years ago that I still hold to – “Communication is key”  I thoroughly believe that with proper communication and understanding, the level of accomplishment can be tremendous.  Unfortunately, it seems that very few can do so without succumbing to insults, arrogance, or emotional distraught.  When talking to someone about views different that what the majority believe, there is hardly any room for any adult conversation and debate.  It is either they insult you, either openly or as side jokes, they say, “Well, I believe…” without giving any proper argument for why, except that their pastor said so or they give some verse out of context and won’t listen to any sort of rebuttal, or they just go into some kind of dramatic emotional psycho-state that makes it all about them.

I am hoping to blog more about the things I have learned in my journey of faith and communicate them to you.  I will get deep.  I will say things that are not widely embraced.  I will be going against the contemporary flow.  I am not concerned about what people think of me.  I am concerned about truth and I am concerned with what we do with that truth.  If you disagree, you can join me in an adult discussion and debate so that we may encourage each other.  I may be wrong in what I say here, or you may be wrong in refuting me, but if any of us has the attitude to prove that one of us is right, we are missing the point.  Neither of us is right, God is.  Until we humble ourselves and realize that “God is true and every man a liar”, we will not be one Body in Christ*.  Heb 3:13 – “But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.”

Remember, it’s not about us, it’s about Him.  It’s not about getting all the answers right, but seeking out the right answers so that we can live them out together to glorify God.

Jesus said to follow Him!

 

* Do not think I’m getting all ecumenical.  There are major differences in some Christian “faiths” that are false and heretical and cannot be reconciled with.  But, there are also many minor things that Christians divide over that should not divide us.

Actions

Information

One response

8 01 2015
cdubbs727

A phrase our church has on their statement of belief is: “In essentials, unity; in doubtful matters, liberty; in all things, charity,” and I love that saying. I think Christians get hostile in disagreements because they’ve created too many essentials — honestly, I think being saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone is the one essential. Everything else gets muddied up as imperfect humans try their best to understand the Word. I think there’s be a lot more diversity, fellowship and love in the church if we held loosely to the non-essentials and had more dialogue together.

Leave a Reply

